Powered by WebAds

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Senate votes to put Hagel to a vote

15 Republicans joined the Democratic majority and the Senate voted 71-27 to stop debate over the nomination of Chuck Hagel to be Secretary of Defense of the United States. The up-or-down vote on Hagel's nomination is to be taken at 4:30 pm Eastern time on Tuesday afternoon (11:30 pm Israel time).
The Senate voted 71-27 to end debate and move forward, almost two weeks after Republicans launched a filibuster to block Hagel's nomination. It was the first time such a procedural tactic had been used to delay consideration of a nominee for secretary of defense.
More than 15 Republicans joined with Democrats to open the way for a vote by the full Senate, now scheduled for 4:30 p.m. EST (2130 GMT).
The Democratic majority, joined by at least three Republicans, is expected to approve the nomination when the issue gets to the floor.
What could go wrong?

Labels: , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Google