Powered by WebAds

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Al-Guardian omits Israeli peace prize winners

In a stunning piece of media bias, al-Guardian published an article on Friday that omitted Israeli winners of the Nobel peace prize (Menachem Begin, Yitzchak Rabin and Shimon Peres). The article has since been corrected. The author, Simon Rogers, was called on the omission by commenters. Here is a screen shot of the 1994 winners in which Rabin and Peres are omitted.

Here's Rogers' rather disingenuous response:
Hi all

It's my fault, I'm afraid. I decided where there was more than one winner to put the joint one in the second column. Unfortunately, this caused a few problems, which we've now rectified.

Please let me know if you spot any other missing names.
A statement issued by the Guardian added:
"For the Nobel Peace Prize winners list, we used data from nobelprize.org. However, there was a technical issue during the data transfer from the site, which meant that many of the names of the joint winners of the Nobel Peace Prize were accidentally omitted, although the country of origin of the winners was not. This has now been corrected," a Guardian spokesperson said.
Really? It's pretty funny that the names of all the other co-winners appear in the screen shot (which is why I called Rogers' response 'disingenuous'). Anyone else believe the Guardian? I don't.

The fact that Rogers took more than three hours to respond to the initial commenter who pointed out the problem doesn't exactly add to his credibility either.



At 1:54 PM, Blogger NormanF said...

The al-Guardian is one of the UK's most leftist papers. The best work done in keeping it in the spotlight is due to the tireless folks at CIF Watch. Give them a big round of thanks!


Post a Comment

<< Home