Powered by WebAds

Sunday, April 08, 2012

Nanny state bans Kosher for Passover Coca Cola

If you're unfortunate enough to be in California for Pesach, good luck finding Kosher for Pesach Coca Cola. The nanny state has decided that it's unhealthy for you and therefore they won't let you have it.
Coke was required to change the way it manufactures caramel due to the high levels of the chemical 4-methylimidazole, or 4-MEI, which California has listed as a carcinogen under its new guidelines. The manufacturing changes in California affected the kosher for Passover status of the cola, according to reports.

The company expects to offer the Kosher for Passover variety of Coca Cola in California by 2013, the newspaper reported citing the company spokesman.

The Passover version of Coke uses sugar in place of corn syrup, which is not kosher for Passover for Ashkenazi Jews.

Some kosher stores in California carried limited amounts of kosher for Passover Coke, which bears a yellow cap, imported from other states.
And I thought Israel was the ultimate nanny state. Sheesh.

Labels: ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Google