Powered by WebAds

Thursday, September 04, 2008

Google Chrome: Israel Matzav may be harmful to your computer

Wednesday night, Charles reported at Little Green Footballs that the user agreement for Google's new Chrome browser lays claim to everything you create on it - including your blog posts. This evening, Philip S. emailed me a screen shot that shows that Google Chrome doesn't like my blog in particular, claiming it may be harmful to your computer.

Hmmm. Personally, I'm sticking with Firefox.

P.S. More than 3000 people have visited this site today and as far as I am aware it has not harmed a single computer.


At 12:05 AM, Blogger Lois Koenig said...

Google Chrome is a disaster! Serves them right.

I'll take a chance on still reading Israel Matzav, but if anything happens to my computer?

You owe me a new one! ;)

At 12:38 AM, Blogger Judah Gabriel Himango said...

I love Google Chrome. So clean and minimalist.

That said, they're probably over-zealous when it comes to malware.

The warning page says the problem stembs from www.wordofblog.net -- there's some content on this page from that site, and that site hosts malware? Interesting.

At 1:14 AM, Blogger Steven said...

Google Chrome only has an issue with your Carnival of the insanities badge.

If you like Carl, I will make a work around for you so that Google Chrome doesn't flag your site even with the Carnival badge.

- Steven

At 1:14 AM, Blogger Epaminondas said...

6:22 PM DST in Maine, used Chrome no prob

I still like firefox better

At 4:00 AM, Blogger Mother Effingby said...

I don't like Chrome for this reason: I can't see the progress of the page load, and my cursor disappears. And....I live for danger, so I am going to continue to visit Carl in Jerusalem!

At 4:03 AM, Blogger Mother Effingby said...

Hmmm. I am back in Firefox, now. I typed wordofblog.net into the address bar and Chrome shut down. No explanation, nothing.

At 9:55 AM, Blogger Findalis said...

Haven't blown up this baby yet. But why is it then whenever I visit the Obama site, I have to reboot my computer?

At 1:17 PM, Blogger The Hubby said...

Here's what the detail page says regarding wordofblog. There's info at the end about how to get off their list. HTH.

Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for www.wordofblog.net/

What is the current listing status for www.wordofblog.net/?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 2 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 08/25/2008, and suspicious content was never found on this site within the past 90 days.

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including avxp-2008.net.

2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including penbuddies.com, copyqua.com.

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, www.wordofblog.net/ did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.

At 10:50 PM, Blogger Shawarma said...

Blogspot/blogger belong to google. So according to chrome - google is trying to harm people's computer. Good job Google...

At 4:28 AM, Blogger Steven said...

Nope shawarmamayor,

According to Google, Carl is hosting a Carnival of the Insanities badge hosted at worldofblog.net, and worldofblog.net has been associated with sites which host malware.


Post a Comment

<< Home