Powered by WebAds

Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Norway grants Schengen visa to Hamas representative

The Dhimmi State of Norway has announced that they have granted a visa to a Hamas representative and are processing the application of another. The two 'Palestinian' Hamas representatives involved are Salah Muhammad al-Bardawil and Mohammad al-Rantissi (Norway will not say whose visa was granted and whose is pending) and they were invited to Norway by the national Palestine Committee.

Unfortunately, this would normally not be news in the current environment - Sweden and Norway both did the same thing last month.

What makes this one significant, as the Jerusalem Post reports (link above), is that these are Schengen visas. Schengen visas
allow free travel in 15 European nations, and were previously denied to the same two terrorists by Fwance. Norway is not an EU member, but is part of the Schengen area.

"The application was presented to the Schengen nations, and there were no objections," the directorate said about the approved visa. "For the other applicant, whose earlier applications for a Schengen visa had been rejected, the deadline for comment lasts a few more days."

The name "Schengen" originates from a small town in Luxembourg. In June 1985, seven European Union countries signed a treaty to end internal border checkpoints and controls. More countries have joined the treaty over the past years. At present, there are 15 Schengen countries, all in Europe.

The 15 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden. All these countries except Norway and Iceland are European Union members.

The announcement came a day after Atef Adwan, the refugee minister in the new Hamas government, completed a three-day visit to Norway. Norwegian political leaders refused to meet him in keeping with a policy of shunning direct contact with Hamas.


Post a Comment

<< Home